A Visit to the Red Elm

It was a tough January, weather-wise, and I only made it to the Arboretum that one time. So this was my second official visit of the year, and boy was it quick. I took a 10-minute lap around, hoping the warmer weather we've had recently might have thawed the lily pond for some reflections. But everything there was still frozen.

However, I found the red elm looking as fine as ever. I love its craggy branches in the winter months. In many ways, I almost prefer the spare beauty of a winter tree. There is something pure and true about it: a tree slimmed down to its barest essential elements. It almost looked silvery in the morning mist.

So here is my soundtrack song. You knew him as Hutch in the 70s TV series Starsky and Hutch, but he also had a singing career. Here is David Soul, with Silver Lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.