Things were different back then

Very wild and windy today so I stayed indoors hoping the wind would drop.  It didn't so I just had to get out and go to the village anyway. 

Didn't want much shopping today but I did need lentils.  Aldi didn't have any when I was there yesterday.  I needed them for the recipe I was using for tonights tea which was chicken, lentil and butter bean casserole.  It was lovely.  Made it a few times before and always enjoy it. I have added a photo to my Extras

I decided to scratch around in one of the spare bedrooms to see if anything came to light which would be suitable for " Silly Saturday.  I still have a lot of the stuff in there which Douglas collected over the years.   I came across a copy of Punch Magazine dated 3rd April 1946.  Priced at sixpence. I have added a shot of the front cover in my Extras.

Punch was a British weekly magazine of humour and satire established in 1841. Historically, it was most influential in the 1840s and 1850s, when it helped to coin the term " cartoon " in its modern sense as a humorous illustration.  After the 1940s, when its circulation peaked, it went into a long decline, closing in 1992. It was revived in 1996, but closed again in 2002

The cartoons were a bit beyond me.  They may have been amusing in 1946 but I didn't get the jokes.  I suppose political satire from 1946 is rather dated.

So I have chosen to blip one of the adverts.  The advert is issued by " The Cake and Biscuit Manufacturers War Time Alliance.

The Association of Biscuit Manufacturers was formed in 1903 and in December 1938 it agreed to collaborate with the British Cake and Biscuit Association in war contingency planning. In January 1939 the Cake and Biscuit Wholesale Manufacturers' Defence Committee was formed and was succeeded in June 1941 by the Cake and Biscuit Manufacturers' War Time Alliance, which changed its name to the Cake and Biscuit Alliance Limited in December 1949.

I thought it was rather silly to be promoting biscuits as a good thing to give children.  You certainly wouldn't see an advert like this in 2019. Thanks to admirer for hosting.

Steps today - 6,866

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.