Newcastle Chinese New Year 2019. Year of the Pig

Kung Hei Fat Choy

This morning I headed for Newcastle to watch the Dragon Parade to celebrate the Chinese New Year.  The Dragons assembled in Old Eldon Square before they set off for Chinatown. When I arrived the place was already crowded and I couldn't get close to the front so my photos aren't the best.  I chose my main shot as I just like the people in it.  I have added a couple of collages showing the dragons and musicians. It was a lovely colourful occasion with very loud music.  A few small children asked to leave as they didn't like the noise.

When the parade set off I walked alongside for a short while but I figured Chinatown would already be busy so I  decided to give that a miss.  I went shopping before coming home.

The weather was really nice - sunny, bright and not too cold.  Perfect weather for the celebrations. 

7 years ago today my lovely Bobby passed away.  He was a really special cat and I still miss him.  Photo in Extras.

Steps today -7,698

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.