Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Look who I met at Wallington

It's been another chilly but sunny day.

I went to Wallington for a walk and completed the riverside walk, which is about 2 miles with some ups and downs. There were loads of people at Wallington, although not many on the walk. It was lovely to see families with young children enjoying the grounds.

I heard one boy, probably about 6 years old, proclaiming "this is like the deepest, darkest forest"! He was happier than a girl, who when offered an apple, said "Is it peeled and chopped up?" I fear the answer was no.

On my walk I met someone I used to work with. John Spencer on the left of the picture was a GP in Newcastle but is known to generations of medical students because he headed the Department of Primary Care. (It had a number of names over the years, but this describes it best.) John was instrumental in introducing training in how to listen to patients and how to talk to them. I used to work part-time in the department when I retired from clinical work. This was before I fully retired.

John and his wife were out with a mountaineering friend of theirs, L. He sustained frostbite to his left foot during a recent climb and is on crutches. The motorised scooter is provided by the National Trust. We had a good natter and they kindly posed for me.

I had to back blip yesterday's image because I was too late home last night to post it.

Margret is home, but had a fall in London and has gashed one elbow. I dressed it for her tonight. She has bruises and aches and pains from the fall, but did have a wonderful weekend. I can't wait to go sometime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.