Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Purple Dawn

Out early for a walk.  Sunrise is now around 7:30 am.  It allows me the opportunity to capture a sunrise (if it happens) and still join L at the gym for a morning's exercise.  I was quite taken by this, the first image I took.  Despite it being a few minutes before sunrise it was the most colourful of my time out.  I also liked the reflections provided by the still water.  I think the combination of gaps in the clouds helped as they filled in soon after, just leaving a red glow on the horizon which was rather insignificant in this wide angle scene.  

I've recently received a book about the Wyrley and Essington Canal, including its history and the various branches that have now disappeared.  While this section is still navigable there are two separate abandoned and disused sections even nearer to our house than this.  It is fascinating to read about the sponsorship of these schemes, all requiring acts of parliament to allow them to be built, and that they were short lived in their benefit to the local mining companies as the railway soon took over in the transportation of coal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.