Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The "Blue' Hour

Another wonderful morning first thing.  As I headed out this morning I could see a band of cloud running north to south overhead.  Experience suggested a good sunrise, if I could find a suitable location.  As the cloud front looked to be moving east I headed in that general direction.

As I drove along a local country road I was taken by the view to my right, which clearly demonstrates how the cloud was forming above me.  It was worth the stop and was clearly during the 'blue hour'.

I ended up at Chasewater reservoir and headed down from the dam wall to where the canal feeder headed east to join the Wyrley and Essington Canal.  The reservoir, formerly know as the Cannock Wood Reservoir, finally placed the Wylrey and Essington Canal Company in the fortunate position of having excess water to supply their network and even allowed them to provide water to the Birmingham Canal Navigations.  The provision of water was often a point of conflict between the different companies that controlled the various parts of the canal network and until that time E&W were often struggling to keep water levels at the heights required by parliament.

Just to show how conditions changed the extra is of the sunrise from the start of the canal feeder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.