Today...

...I was going to use the gel pens, but before I put away the thick Stabilo crayons from yesterday, I wondered if they would work on the black acrylic painted magazine images I took the gel prints from.

I had used black on the gel plate to transfer the images, and so consequently I was left with a black magazine page. Most dried totally black, but a few, like the one above, you could still see some of the original image.

Well, this morning I used the Stabilo crayons to highlight and darken some of this image. And added a moon. I was going to sprinkle some tiny stars in the sky, but I ran out of time. Had to go out.

I did save most of the black painted magazine pages that I had gel plate printed from in the end. Looking through them, I am getting some ideas what I can do with them using these crayons.

So then, I am looking online to see if they still make them. It is about 15 years (or more) since I bought them. Well actually I didn't buy them myself. J had won a monetary art prize, and generously let me have half of it. These crayons were being demonstrated then, so I used some of the money towards them.

Anyway, here I am online this afternoon looking for these crayons online.Not a sign of them anywhere, nor on Amazon. So I am sad.

Then I thought hang on. Their make is 'Stabilo'. The name of this line of crayons appears to be 'Tone'. So, all I was getting in any search was exercise equipment, even if I put the words crayons or coloured crayons/pencils in as well.

So, did they have to change their name because of this?

It looks like they did. Because I have now found them on Amazon, rebranded and now marketed for children. The packaging was children drawing with them. This is hardly artist's crayons. But in the blurb it said it applies 8 times as much colour as standard colouring pencils. I would agree that my old ones are very intense in colour. I checked the code numbers with each colour to mine, and they were tha same. They are called Stabilo Woody 3-in-1 now.

I can now order a white (which I omitted to get initially as I was using them more for watercolour painting), and another pencil sharpener while I am at it (although mine still works). It is a very fat crayon, and I haven't seen any other sharpeners large enough.

Everyone out was saying it was warmer today. But I didn't find that. I was cold and am still warming up back home in bed. Popeye is blissfully happy asleep on me. I am in the best place as far as he is concerned.

Maybe tomorrow I will look at the different gel pens I have...

I am still looking for acrylic inks I used to have. I think they had F.W. as a name. Maybe I used them all up. I was feeling stressed at one time (about 10 years ago), and I did nothing for weeks except play with the acrylic inks making all kinds of brightly coloured backgrounds. I had bought a job lot of them cheaply. The backgrounds are still in several boxes in the garage.

I will see what Amazon can throw up for a reasonably priced set of acrylic inks. I had read you can use them on the gel plates to print from...

Anyway I have rambled on enough. I have warmed up now, so poor Popeye will have to move...

Thank you for dropping by and your great comments and love.

Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.