Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Behind the scenes

I was on the RPS photo day "behind the scenes" in Newcastle.

We started in the Grainger Market, where our excellent guide, Freda,(pictured) showed us all sorts of things we had never noticed on previous visits. The market was built in 1835 and despite many changes, remains recognisable as the original market. There are always bargains to be had in the fruit and veg section. The fish and meat markets are very good too and then there are all sorts of other shops.

Freda told me that her little granddaughter is called Freya. The parents were going to call her Freda, but grandma suggested that it was rather old fashioned. 

My extra shows part of the market from the balcony. You have to have special permission to go up there. What a view. There is a lot going on in my picture (and not all at the same time!!)

We went on to the Tyneside Cinema where we saw a newsreel from the 1950s. We sat in three of the cinema and heard about the art deco style. It's a brilliant place to see a wide range of films.

Our final stop was at the Lit and Phil. This is another old Newcastle institution, founded as a "conversation club" in 1793. There were no premises at first. Now there is the most amazing library and there are talks and concerts in the hallowed halls. 

My second extra is just two small shelves of books by and about Dante.

Arth and I decided that there were too many stairs on this trip. I was on my feet for over 4 hours with a brief stop for lunch and in the cinema. It was home to an ice pack. I'm hoping to walk tomorrow, but I'll have to decide after a night's sleep.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.