Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Feeling a little bloated?

I just love it when I can catch a bird puffing out its feathers.  It usually happens quickly and without warning so, at least for me, it is more often than not sheer dumb luck when I manage to catch it on camera.  And today was my dumb-luck day, I guess, since I caught several birds in mid-puff.  This particular cardinal is one I've blipped before - he's a male who probably came from the last brood of the year and, for some reason, he didn't fully molt into his adult plumage.  I find him quite lovely with his patches of juvenile buffy feathers.  He was one of 7 male cardinals in the garden today - quite a sight.  

I also bore witness to the death of the male Hairy Woodpecker who's been around since last fall.  His mate was taken by a hawk about a month ago; and today he was was also taken by a hawk.  I heard the awful sound of a woodpecker in distress and after a quick look, saw the hawk on the ground, wings spread, guarding her catch.  I confess that I tried to flush her off the woodpecker - this isn't something I should ever do, but I reacted on emotion.  And I was not successful - she took off with the woodpecker, where I hope she put him out of his misery quickly.  I wish I could unsee  and unhear that.  I know, of course, that hawks must eat.  But it may be another year or so before Hairy Woodpeckers find their way to our woods again and I will miss them.  Why, oh why couldn't she have gotten one of the starlings?

Aside from that, it was a good day, much of it spent outside in the hide with a quick break to hit the gym.  It will be much colder tomorrow, but I plan to spend some more hide time.  The Great Backyard Birdcount is officially on and I aim to submit some photos!

A few more fluffy birds:
Blue Jay
Black-capped chickadee

I think tonight will be a pizza night since I really don't feel like cooking.  Cheers, and happy Friday.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.