Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dapper

I think this word best describes these lovely white-throated sparrows with their beautiful whistled songs and their jaunty plumage.  As I huddled in the hide, toes turning numb, I just couldn't stop snapping shots.  The light was lovely and I was feeling very connected to my camera.  All in all, a very good time, in spite of frigid temps.  I had a higher than usual number of "keepers" from my images today and I've posted my 4 other favorites on Flickr, starting here if you'd care to have a look.

I've been shooting using auto ISO for the last few days, after reading several articles about it.  Essentially, I don't trust the camera to do anything so I shoot fully manual.  Which is kind of silly in some cases.  Anyway, I bring it up because this image hasn't been edited at all other than a crop.  I set the aperture and shutter but let the D850 set the ISO and it did very well in most cases.  This is handy when I'm shooting in situations where the light changes a lot, which was the cast today.

An otherwise uneventful day other than a trip to the gym.  

Heard from mom and dad last night - to my surprise, they made a thunder run from AZ and are now back in their condo in Portland.  Looking forward to talking with them tomorrow.

Thanks for the love on my goldfinch yesterday!

xo
Debbi

Fitness notes - A cardio day with 3 miles on the elliptical and 1.5 on the treadmill.  My broken foot is still tender, so am going to go a little slower on the treadmill until it feels better.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.