A Quiver of Arrows

I met Kate at Michelham Priory this morning and we thought it would be busy being a Saturday and the start of the school holidays, so got there for opening time, but we practically had the place to ourselves, it was lovely!  

We started off with a visit to the house and then wandered through the gardens, there wasn't a lot of colour and it was a very grey day, but we did find a part of the garden where there were crocus, snowdrops and daffodils.  There were lots of birds too, and the birdsong was wonderful.

We stopped off at the cafe for a hot chocolate and a cup of tea and noticed some guys in medieval costume setting up some archery targets, so after our drinks we went to have a look and they said they were the Michelham Bowmen and they're at the Priory every Saturday.  Another of the guys stopped to talk to us and was happy to have his photograph taken (see my extra), and then once he'd finished setting up, he asked me if I'd like to have a go.  I was wary because of my shoulder, but he gave me a very light bow and it was fine - my target was a picture of a wild boar, and although I missed it a couple of times, I managed to hit it and really enjoyed it - Kate has blipped one of the photos she took of me.   

When we left, I drove to Sainsbury's to do a food shop, and made it home about 5 minutes before Alan.  He enjoyed the shooting show he went to and came home with a scope and a few other things.

More planning for our holiday, and instead of booking a helicopter ride, I'm going on Seawings which is a sea plane.  I'll still get the aerial view that I wanted but the flight is much longer than the helicopter would be, and I've never been on a sea plane, so it should be quite an experience.  Alan's going to stay on the ground and take photos of our take off and landing - he says he spends enough time in air!

I don't know where this evening has gone, and I'm still behind on commenting, so please accept my apologies, i'll do my best to catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.