40 years on!

It was 40 years ago that I last went to hospital and I guess you could say that’s a pretty good record for a 70 year old! I had to present myself to the Nepean Hospital this morning armed with a letter for the Surgeon. It appeared certain that I would be staying two or three days to deal with the old Gall Stone issue! So off I trotted with my good friend Myra at 6.00am to head down to Penrith accompanied by my ipad and computer and my little bag of tricks. CCN was going to enjoy the next couple of days with our good friend Sue who just happens to be a Doctor. Fancy having a Doctor in the house in a moment of crisis like this. Pretty lucky I reckon.

After almost 8 hours of waiting it was my turn for the Ultra Sound and sure enough there they were. The little blighters that had been causing so much discomfort over the past few weeks. I’m actually adding my blip tonight from the comfort of my own bed at Wombat Hollow. Yes I will have to return to have the little you know what removed but not today.

It was somewhat of a relief because now I will be able to plan the operation and all it means for our situation at home without it being under Emergency conditions. I’m certainly going to organise it in the near future because I will be living on a tight rope until I’ve dealt with the problem. I guess you’d have to say I’m blessed to have had been so healthy throughout my life and this in fact is just a slight hiccup. So that’s the mystery solved and I’m well enough to tell the tale!

PS - I have to admit I was pretty excited when mid-afternoon I realised I could stream the final day of the Australian Open Golf for women live on my ipad. Happy days!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.