Dean Village

I discovered yesterday that the hair appointment that I thought was tomorrow afternoon, was actually at 9am this morning.  I’m not sure why I got it so wrong, but just as well I checked!  When I made the appointment a couple of months ago, I also forgot that this was the school holiday week.  I hoped that TT could take BB to work with him and then I would pick him up, however that wasn’t possible, so poor BB had to come with me.  That meant an early start which didn’t go down too well.  He was well looked after by the girls who made him a hot chocolate complete with marshmallows and biscuits, but it was a long wait for him. 

When we eventually emerged it was a glorious day – such a contrast from scraping the ice off the car a few hours earlier.  BB wanted to come straight home, but I had other ideas.  We walked along the Water of Leith from Roseburn to Stockbridge – a walk that TT and I used to regularly do when we lived in Roseburn in the good old (pre-BB) days.  By the time we got to Stockbridge he was dying of hunger, so a lunch spot had to be found.  I refused to go to his choice, having been there only a few days ago.  He wasn’t happy, but we found a lovely café with excellent service, and we both had delicious and  very sophisticated sandwiches.  We were surrounded by “Stockbridge ladies” which was interesting!  We then made our way back to Princes Street, with a couple of stop offs on the way.

When we got home, I was going to go to the supermarket, but as the day was still so lovely – and warm  - I went for a walk to make the most of the unseasonal weather.

Later I cooked Cullen Skink, which went down well and even later I collapsed on the sofa.  A lovely day.

Someone’s washing was out in Well Court in Dean Village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.