MATCH DAY Newcastle United v Huddersfield.

Its my nephew Gary's birthday next Wednesday and around this time of year his Dad - my brother John  - takes him to watch a Newcastle match as a birthday treat.  So today was the day.  They always get a lift to the match from my sister in law and pick me up on the way. They arrived at 1pm and after we got dropped off in Newcastle we headed for The Newcastle Arms ( near the football ground ) - where we go every year.  It was jam packed as usual and we had to stand shoulder to shoulder with other fans.  Not just Newcastle fans - there were a lot of Huddersfield fans too.  We had a bit of banter with a couple of them.  They love coming to Newcastle .  They were not expecting their team to win.

In my collage you can see the traditional three photos which are taken every year.  Gary and John outside the pub, Gary and John and John and me with St James Park in the background.

We separated when we got to the ground as John and Gary like to go in the Sports Bar enclosure.  There is a private bar where you can go before, during and after the match - and you can pre - order your drinks to save time.

20 mins into the game Huddersfield had a player sent off.  Newcastle had lots of chances to score in the first half but it finished 0 - 0.  However only one minute of the second half had been played when Newcastle scored.  More chances to score followed and Newcastle got a second goal after 52 mins.  Final score Newcastle 2  Huddersfield 0.  Huddersfield remain stuck on the bottom of the Premiership. Newcastle moved up to 15th.  Hopefully this is the start of a winning run.

In my collage you can see a shot of most of the Newcastle team and also a shot of our new player Miguel Almiron who was making his full debut - and his first appearance in front of the home fans.  He played really well.  I think he's going to prove to be a good buy.

The two seats to the left of mine are always occupied by an elderly chap who is disabled and deaf - and his carer.  Sometimes the carer is a lady who is totally disinterested in the match.  Other times its a man who is passionate about football.  He is always pleased when he sees his name on the rota on match days.  Today it was him who sat next to me.  Every time Newcastle score he always gives me a hug.  So I got two hugs today.  Lucky me eh!.

I was offered a lift home after the match as my sister in law was driving in to pick up her hubby and son - but I declined as I wanted to do a bit of shopping.

The weather today was really nice.  Warm and sunny. Very unusual for February.  This time last year we had snow.

Steps today - 7,034

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.