AUDIENCE APPRECIATION

This afternoon I headed for The Arena in Newcastle to see the Sunday for Sammy show.  Its the 20th anniversary of the event. ( I was going for the first time) The concerts, locally dubbed The Geordie Command Performance, are held every two years in memory of Geordie actor Sammy Johnson who died suddenly in 1998. The money raised goes to  support young performers and creatives in the North East

When I got to The Arena i found a massive queue and it took ages to get near the actual building.  Then we had to go through airport style security- body scanners etc.  Its reassuring that they have such safety measures. When I went to find my seat  there was no seat.  No number 83 on the end of the row.  I saw a steward who found me a chair and plonked it down in the empty space.  Very strange.

The cast is never revealed beforehand and this year included - Geordie entertainers Tim Healy, Denise Welch, Kevin Whately, Charlie Hardwick, Jimmy Nail, Jill Halfpenny,  Joe McElderry,and Chelsea Halfpenny - and many others.  Also making an appearance was Johnny Vegas who seemed to be totally unscripted wandering around the audience and generally being hilarious..There were some great comedy sketches and singing. The show lasted 4 hours with only a short break in the middle.  And the cast had to do it all again this evening. 

Taking photographs wasn't easy.  My main blip shot is really a mistake - but I thought it worth blipping anyway - captures the excitement of the event.  My Extra is a couple of photos of Joe McElderry ( who won The X Factor in 2009 ) - he was excellent.

Musical link -  Ain't No Doubt  by JIMMY NAIL - he sang this song in the show.

Steps today - 10,070

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.