Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In and around Humshaugh - the soldier

It was another glorious morning. I spent time sorting out lenses, filters and tripod, etc., for a forthcoming trip next week.

After lunch I went to Chesters Roman Fort. It is only half a mile from our house. I wanted a short walk whilst wearing the camera backpack I think I will take to Harris. I have not tried walking with the tripod attached yet. That will be the big challenge.

Chesters was fairly quiet with a few family groups exploring the site. It is probably my least favourite Roman fort. I don't like the way the different sections are surrounded by metal fencing. It is there to prevent sheep attack on the ancient stones, but it makes it all seem rather sterile. 

The high spot was meeting this Roman soldier. He was there to show the children how to be one, but there were no takers this afternoon. We chatted and then he told me the tale of the White Dragon of winter and how he was persuaded to go north so that Spring and Summer could come every year. 

He's a good storyteller.

I've moved him from the modern building behind him to the banks of the river North Tyne, viewed from the fort. It's my first Silly Saturday offering!

Tonight I went to see Can you ever forgive me? at the Forum Cinema  with the other Marjorie and her friend Norah. I liked the film but Arth became very uncomfortable because he had to stay bent. Paracetamol for him and bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.