Kipsie

By Kipsie

Begging for a makeover ...........

I'm sure with a new engine, new tyres, a lick of paint and some imagination this lovely neglected vehicle could give someone a wonderful home while having an adventure. I'd be up for it .... quite fancy an adventure.  I should perhaps send a pic to George Clarke & his rather dishy carpenter friend Will. I bet they could make it into an Amazing Space :)

First job this morning, make space in the spare bedroom for my trays of seed potatoes. Need to get them chitting ready for planting.

It's makeover day here today. The sun was really warm this morning, & I was itching to get stuck in to my new garden layout, so after a bacon & egg baguette alfresco, I was fueled up and ready to go.

Shady border tidied up, purple leaved Hebe moved into a sunnier spot which I'm sure it will like, holly pruned, forget-me-not seedlings moved to front garden, & soil turned, job number one completed. My lovely new Salix gracilistyla Mt. Aso planted in another tiny bed I then began placing my shrubs & herbaceous plants on the bare soil of the main garden, then decided I would like to incorporate water as the birds love a drink, so I whizzed off to the allotment where I had a large, & unfortunately deep, container ideal for plunging into the ground. Met another allotment renter, Brian. He had  rotivator stolen from his garden shed last year and sadly lost interest in the plot, but is back with a vengeance this year , so had a quick chat with him before heading back.

J could'nt really help very much, he's not a gardener, & does'nt have much power, so I sent him off to watch the footie with his mate. He was so disappointed earlier today, he was looking forward to going to the driving range to try and hit a few balls. He's not played golf for quite awhile, & not sure if he can now after having a stroke, so it would have been a very useful exercise & perhaps given him the incentive to get out & exercise, but was cancelled. 

Flippin' 'eck!!! What a stupid idea .. Digging a hole at least 2' deep x 3'long x 18" wide might not seem much but on claggy thick clay interspersed with flint ... Well let's just say, I've just got up to refill my glass and I can hardly move . Ouch! Think I'd better dig out the tiger balm before I hit the sack tonight. Ouch! BUT it was worth it. Once the sun had gone around it got chilly so I adjourned to the lounge to search for pond surround ideas. Do you know it's really weird, but when we moved to Thailand and started making a garden there the first plant I bought was a green leafed  ornamental grass, which considering the colourful bougainvillea, brightly coloured canna's, & other tropical plants that I could have been tempted by was strange. I've done the same here, the first 2 plants that I bought were interesting ornamental grasses & I know exactly where they are going to be planted. There will be colour, lots of hot colours. I've got orange, blue, purple, magenta & bright pink, & that's just bulbs :) so I've got the vibe.
Right then, off to make dinner .. Salmon traybake, Charlotte potatoes, sugarsnap peas & baby sweetcorn. Perfect after a day in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.