DOWN TO THE WIRE

Usual Monday for me.  Fitness this afternoon.  Linda was back.  If you recall she fell over in class a few weeks ago and broke her collar bone.  Today she wasn't allowed to stand up and did all the exercises sitting down just moving her legs and arms as best she could. She was given a better chair than the rest of us - it was padded and had arms.   Much more comfortable -  and safer.

This evening it was back down to the Church Hall for Slimming Club.  Very pleased to lose 3 pounds this week.  Getting nearer to my target weight.  Its not proving easy but I will get there ( again ) soon hopefully.

The weather today has been even warmer and we had bright sunshine all day.  Lovely to be outdoors.

When the weather is dry I like to go to and from the village down the back lane through the allotments.  (If its wet weather its too muddy to use that route. ) Whenever I come home through my back gate Tino always hears and comes dashing out through the cat flap and runs fast as he can down the cat enclosure to the wire at the bottom.  I suddenly thought about using this idea for the Mono Monday Challenge which is " Down To The Wire ".  So I got my camera out and took a few shots to make a collage..  Thanks to laurie54 for hosting.

By the way the origin of the idiom “Down to the Wire” is in Horse-Racing. In the late 19th century, a small wire was strung across the track, above the finish line, to help the judges determine which horse crossed the finish line first. An early example appeared in the July issue of Scribner’s Magazine in 1889, in the story ‘How the derby was won’: “As the end of the stand was reached Timarch worked up to Petrel, and the two raced down to the wire”.

Steps today - 13,450

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.