Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Spring blossoms

Another beautiful day again today - but...the weather is turning tomorrow and by next week we will be back to our usual late winter temperatures. The blossoms are starting to come out on certain trees, and in the sunshine it looked and felt like spring.

The Royal Photographic Society magazine came through the mail today, and I was reminded that at an annual subscription to the RPS of £120, I don't get much out of it other than the monthly magazine, which to be honest is not that brilliant. I recently sent an email asking for information about the ARPS distinction as I am halfheartedly thinking of trying to achieve it - it took over 2 weeks to get a response which clearly was written in a hurry as it was badly written and full of mistakes and did not answer my question. I sent another email over 2 weeks ago and to date have not had a reply. I do have to question what is the purpose of the society? If it is meant to promote photographers to achieve their distinctions I feel they do a half baked job of that - not enough support and not enough assessments through the year and any such support is geographically too widely spread. I would have thought that the RPS would be behind some major photographic exhibitions, but no - they seem to hold limited exhibitions. As another photographer said to me, at 11,000 members world wide for a professional body is not very impressive. Sorry, rant over, I will get back to reading my freshly delivered mediocre magazine which usually only has one or two articles that actually appeal to me. It doesn't inspire me to achieve the next level of distinction and I think I have lost interest in that project.

A lovely friend who moved back to Australia some years ago came to visit this afternoon for tea (she is on holiday here at the moment) - it was good to see her again and to catch up on her news. I was also given some beautiful tulips which may feature in a blip as some point. 

I must finish my chores and then to I am off to school to join Gavin for a Governor's Dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.