Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A tricky old day

Yesterday evening I became aware that the dishwasher might be leaking. It was newly installed on 25th January. This morning I contacted the firm who fitted it. Initially I was told that someone would be out asap. At the end of the morning I had a 'phone call from the fitter. He said it was highly unlikely to be the machine and he had to charge me for the call out if it wasn't.

I took the risk.

It was the machine and it seems to have had a slow leak, probably since it was fitted. Further inspection of the house revealed dampness in the ceiling below the dishwasher. (We have an upstairs kitchen.) Further inspection revealed that the fitted wardrobe across one wall in Mum's bedroom was not only damp but wet inside.

Thankfully I had good help on hand to empty all the clothes and all the rest of the contents. The wet blankets etc have been washed. Various things are drying out in different places. The electric blanket was soaked so I doubt we will use that again!

Today was my day set aside to pack for Harris. 

This afternoon I was on the phone for ages talking to the home insurers.

The suitcase is less than half packed.

The other major event today was a visit from one of the GPs to discuss Mum's emergency care plan. This is quite straightforward. For me, the much more important issue is how to access routine care, especially when Mum can't easily go to the surgery. After going around and around the houses, the bottom line is that home visits are for emergencies only (thought they went by ambulance to hospital.......) and appointments for people who can't go to the surgery are on the phone. What about someone who can't hear well enough to use the phone? There is no answer to that. It doesn't fit the current system.

I won't rant on but I could. I am sad and disappointed.

The dying tulip brings some solace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.