Short Walk to clear my head

At least it was an an attempt to clear my head.  I didn’t seem to wake up properly all day yesterday.

I think my few photos from yesterday were a homage to the Atmospheric Weather competition from the night before at Penistone CC, where there were a few photos in this style. Our judge, who was very good, suggested that people could bring out more contrast on a number of them.  So in my processing this morning I’ve tried to do just that.  I’ve opted for a bluer tone than the original image to emphasise the distant view disappearing into the haze. (It only really looked hazy if I shot into the light.). 

There were some very good images in Wednesday nights competition and our judge chose five 20’s (our top mark), including one of my Iceland ones that I’ve never tried out in a competition before.  He also had some very good suggestions about another one that I’d processed in black and white. I knew the foreground wasn’t working but I couldn’t quite decide what to do about it.  I need to have another play.  The original title of the competition was `weather’ and I persuaded them to broaden it into atmospheric landscape.  We’ve tried both titles before and `weather’ as a title seems to bring out the worst kind of images, whereas `Atmospheric Landscape' seems to bring out the best.   A good night all round I thought.

p.s. I decided to give my usual Mill Moor route a miss yesterday and to walk up the other side of the valley instead.  It was more walk than photography yesterday, which was good.  I need to get a little fitter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.