The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

New Brewery Arts

This afternoon we decided to do something different, and went over to Cirencester to see the Christmas exhibition by artist and illustrator Tony Meeuwissen. I also wanted to see some twinkly lights, as I'm not really feeling very Christmassy. We enjoyed the exhibition, and popping into the posh chemist's to get some Roger and Gallet soap for my mother certainly took me back a few years!
CleanSteve has blipped Tony Meeuwissen's work here. He once won an award for illustrating 'the world's best stamp set', so it was in fact yesterday's stamps blip that reminded me to go and see his exhibition.

There was a German-style Christmas market in the elegant marketplace, with little wooden huts, but no one was buying this afternoon. I guess the subzero temperatures were keeping people at home. The stallholders were grumpy and did not want their photos taken. I did not have a chance to go round the charity shops, but we went to a camera shop where the lens CleanSteve wanted to look at was not in stock, and another of my special places, the New Brewery Arts
centre. This time I was not working, or attending a bookbinding workshop, but visiting the cafe. Fortunately it was happy hour, so we got a tray full of drinks and cakes for £5. CleanSteve pronounced the coffee very good, which is high praise indeed. To give you an idea of how tired I have been lately, I asked for a mince pie with a 'muffin top' instead of a 'macaroon top' ! Hmmm, too many mince pies might well lead to muffin top.

This is the window in the cafe, with various pieces of artwork for sale. There is a wall behind it, which wasn't dark yet, so I have used the 'smooth' filter. I really need some sparkle, so I've played with the RGB offset to make the fairy lights more blue than they were. I can't decide if I like or hate this set of effects.

Then we headed off through the darkness back to the 'castle' on Cecily Hill, where the car was parked. Because of the diversions caused by the market, we got lost and nearly ended up going to London! Home safe now. I will try to go back and blip or write about the market town of Cirencester when I am feeling a bit more with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.