Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Conversation

Lazing about yesterday and not going out has really helped and I feel much better today. Last night we saw the film Green Book which we both enjoyed very much- I know there have been some controversies over the truth of the story but quite honestly I go to the cinema to be entertained, this is a Hollywood movie not a factual documentary so I don't care if it does not depict the exact truth.

I think I also misrepresented the Everyman Cinema yesterday - it is certainly the best cinema around here! It is very popular as you sit on comfortable 2 seater sofas, there are cushions and blankets if you feel like getting cosy, waiters serve food, pots of tea, drinks and cocktails on your own little table and it is all very civilised. Before the show starts the manager walks in and personally welcomes you and it all feels very homely. The smell of food at the sofa next to yours is no worse than the long lingering smell of popcorn that happens in every other cinema. 

Today I had tickets to see the Don McCullin exhibition at the Tate Britain. It's a quick 30 minute journey for me to get to Vauxhall by train and then I just walk over the bridge to the museum. However, today there was an icy wind blowing as I crossed that bridge, and my knees were very painful again today so by the time I got there I was hobbling around. It is quite near to Gavin's office and as I got a lunch time slot he was able to join me to see the exhibition, and then we had a quick bite to eat in the cafe afterwards (which was not very good).

The exhibition is very powerful - I suppose it is what one expects when viewing the work of a photographer who has covered every major war of the latter part of last century. Some images were so moving - I especially found the ones of the Biafran children quite disturbing. I just wish they would put up camera details, perhaps even something as basic as the lens used, and for those from the 2000's onwards whether they were film or digital images.

The Mono Monday challenge today was 'converse', and other than photographing a pair of Converse trainers I thought I would find many people in conversation whilst looking at the photographs which would do nicely for the challenge. However, there was a reverential hush over the room, no one was speaking as they were all so engrossed or shocked by what they were seeing. I did find one or two couples engaged in a quiet conversation, and took the opportunity for a photograph.

It was raining by the time I came out, and by the time I limped home I was really suffering with my knees. I think I overdid it by trying to run this morning as they have been pain free for the past few days. I have to be more patient I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.