Bittersweet Memories

Have I mentioned how much I love snow? When I was here in Sweden this time last year there was LOTS of snow, and we got new snow almost every day. This year the winter is much milder here and I didn’t expect to see much snow, so I was very happy that they got a small amount right before I arrived yesterday. And last night it snowed a little bit more, so when we went for the big walkies at noon today I was able to enjoy it. It even snowed while we were out - little flakes at first and then great big flakes for awhile.

Alice and her mum Elisabet live near a nature reserve - what they call the ‘oak meadows’ - filled with ancient oak trees, the oldest dated ones from the 1520s. It’s one of their favourite places to walk, and mine too.

This spot where Alice is standing is a special place for all of us because of the very precious picture I’ve added as an ‘extra photo’. When Dolly and I were visiting here in 2017, Elisabet took this beautiful picture of her and Alice together on this very same fallen log. It was the last picture I have of Dolly before she got sick. Even though there is an element of sadness when we walk past this spot, I like to go and remember her and I am filled with gratefulness for her long life and our happy years together. I’m also so happy that we did the road trip to Sweden, not just once but twice, that we shared happy times with Alice and her mum, and that I was with them when I lost Dolly. So this spot, while bittersweet, is a place I am eager to visit.

Besides the walkies, we had a chillax-day as I was tired from my travelling. We ate good food, caught up with news, opened some presents, drank tea, napped, and cooked a delicious dinner. We also went on a late afternoon walkie and by this time it was raining and most of the snow we’d walked through 4 hours earlier was gone.

I’m very happy to be in Sweden! We have some fun things planned!

See Alice’s blip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.