Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Film recommendation

I had the afternoon off from reorganising the house to go to Newcastle to see The Kindergarten Teacher with Maggie Gyllenhaal. It was shown by a group called Reclaim the Frame.  They work to bring films by women to a wider audience.

I thought this was a fascinating film and we had a brilliant discussion afterwards led by Mia Bays, who runs Bird's Eye View, film critic Kaleem Aftab, poet and filmmaker Be Manzini and Markku Wood, clinical psychologist. 

My biggest surprise was to find that most of the audience were in their 20s and there were men and women in almost equal numbers. There were very few people in my age group. That was great to see. (I thought it would be full of social workers, child health workers and women of a certain left wing political persuasion.)

People from the audience joined in the discussion, including me. I thought it made the film even more interesting.

Mum was less well this morning and needed the wheelchair for a while. She could do without the major disruption we are facing. I'm going to ask that the work is deferred until later in the week when we are more ready for them to start. 

Snow, sleet, cold rain and wind today. It was cosy in the cinema.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.