Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Whose NHS? - OUR NHS!!

There was a march in Newcastle today protesting against the NHS cuts and the steady move towards privatisation. I went along to make my own documentary record of the event.

15 minutes before the start time, there were very few people outside the Medical School. Gradually people and banners arrived. A group of Newcastle University Shooting Club had chosen to meet at the same spot and looked bemused and a little nonplussed.

I told them we were friendly, although the photographer next to me who is sometimes a hunt saboteur wasn't inclined to agree!!

Shaamie was there and was going to the match later. 

I also met a couple of photographers from the Documentary Group. One was there without a camera!!

We progressed steadily from the university, down Northumberland Street and into the centre of the city for speeches at the Monument.

Amongst the local and national activists speaking were Stephen Tompkinson and Dennis Lawson who are appearing in the play, Art, at the Theatre Royal this week.

The promised heavy rain held off. It was dreich but only a bit drizzly.

I have hundreds of image, but I chose this one because so many different flags are included.

My extra shows the front of the march with Jeremy Hunt and Richard Branson leading the way (NOT!).

I then went to see Julie. We have booked our accommodation for a two day trip to Glasgow in May. The Airbnb site would not take our booking at Julie's but accepted it on my computer........  Julie is now booking the trains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.