Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Reccy

Well, the day took a real turn when I followed up on an email with regard to getting some aerial shots of Dubai for a friend. I have narrowed 130 pictures down to three. G took more, but I am posting ones taken by me using my faithful X30 and Nikon DSLR. All done during a twenty-minute ride on the seaplane!

I have to say, I found myself very quickly appreciating the stability and lack of noise provided by bigger aircraft. I'm not one for fairground rides; so didn't take well to the turbulence! Definitely a great experience though, we were on the last flight of the day which was for the aircraft being flown back to its depot in Jebel Ali. We were the only passengers on the flight. The only drawback was getting off in a different location far out of town, so we got a taxi to the start point and then again, back home.

My blips are of the buildings on SZR showing Burj Khalifa. The first extra is of Karama - where I live. Zoomed in, I can see my building (close to where the Frame is). And lastly, the second extra is of newer developments going South; you've got Emirates Hills, The Springs and Jumeirah Islands. Fascinating.

I, er, didn't cope well with the turbulence and needed a few hours to recover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.