EGGER

First of all the central heating - isn't heating.  What I did last evening which made it work was apparently just a test to see if the diverter valve was jammed. ( my plumbers words not mine - I haven't a clue! )  The test proved the valve wasn't jammed - but after the test the heating only remains on for a few mins.  So it still needs fixing. Luckily I have a gas fire in the lounge and three stand alone electric heaters which I can plug in where they are needed. I got in touch with the other plumber ( which my own plumber recommended )  -   I sent him a text this morning but have heard nothing back.  Might give him a ring tomorrow.  Didn't have much chance to ring today as I had to go out to Hexham.

Left the house at 10.20am.  Got the bus to the Metrocentre.  20 min wait then a bus to Hexham.   Reason for going to Hexham ....... I got a phone call last week from Synexus - they conduct clinical research studies.  They are interested in getting volunteers for a drugs trial for people with osteoarthritis and offered me an appointment.  I did volunteer a couple of years ago but I didn't go ahead due to worries about travel insurance.  This time I did a bit of research and found out that holiday insurance  is no problem if you are on a drugs traial.  So I got back to Synexus and said that I would attend the appointment.

The Synexus Clinic is situated inside Hexham General Hospital.  My appointment was for 1pm and I was seen soon after.  A nurse did the interview and she asked me lots of questions - reading them out for a multitude of forms.  All was going well and for every answer I gave I was meeting their criteria.  But then .... a stumbling block.  She was almost at the end when she asked if I had ever had gout.  I had.  It was one episode over 10 years ago.    She left the room to ask a doctor whether this one episode would make me inelegible for the trial.  When she came back she advised me that it did.  I might have a reaction to the drug if I had suffered from gout - even if it was just once all those years ago.  So that was it - not eligible.  I was rather disappointed.  So I got up to leave and the nurse said " Don't forget to claim your expenses".  I told her I didn't have any expenses - my bus travel was free as I have a pensioners bus pass.  She said that didn't matter - I would get the mileage allowance.  And I did --- a cheque for £17.89.  Kerching!

So seeing as I was in Hexham I took the opportunity to wander round the shops.  There are a few charity shops so I visited all of them.  Got a nice jumper for £3.  Then I popped into Beales Department Store - a funny old fashioned shop with lots of different levels and stairs.  Lots of Sale bargains but nothing " floated my boat".

On my way back to the bus station I realised I had no blip shot so I looked around for inspiration.  In the distance I spotted the Egger Factory - so that's my blip. The Egger plant is one of Europe’s most advanced chipboard production facilities. The plant also upgrades the raw chipboard to Melamine Faced Chipboard (MFC) products for the furniture market and tongue & groove flooring for the building market. It employs 600 people. The company was founded 1961 and its headquarters are in Tyrol, Austria.  As you can see its a bit of a local landmark with the smoke/steam belching out day and night.

Around 4.30pm I caught the bus back to the Metocentre.  Bit of a wait there again for the bus home. Finally got in the house around 6.15pm. 

Home to a cold house but it was soon warm in the lounge after I put the gas fire on.  Both cats were pleased about that and headed there to stretch out in the warmth.

The weather today has been changeable.  Started off dry but very windy.  When I was on the bus to Hexham the heavens opened and we had rain lashing down the whole way there.  Rain soon stopped and the sun came out for a bit but it was still windy and very cold.

Neil went to Cheltenham yesterday with a group of friends.  They go every year to watch the racing.  They always stay in a big house which they rent for the whole week.  I think a lot of folk who live in Cheltenhame move out of their houses and go somewhere - anywhere - and rent their house out to racegoers.  The house Neil is in this year comes complete with a very energetic border collie dog and a deaf cat which meows very loudly all the time.  Neil sent me photos of these " pets ".  I was surprised as he never takes photos usually.  But he does love animals so he will be very happy to have those two extra housemates for the week.

Steps today - 10,508

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.