Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Nobbys

What could be more "in my area" than Nobbys.  It is a local landmark.  I usually shoot it from the beach as in the extra but today I give you the drone's view of Nobbys.  The lighthouse itself is rather tiny in comparison to the other cottages and the signal house.  There are rumblings of turning those buildings into a cafe, restaurant, art gallery and the like.  Like most things in Newie there are strong arguments going on for and against a development.  There will be committees set up on each side and as usual, a lot of talking and not much action.  I am not sure what I would like it to be but as long as the public can have some sort of access I would be happy.  I can't see a ritzy restaurant up there because of all the foot traffic on the breakwall which is not really conducive to having cars taking patrons there.  It used to be open every Sunday to the public but when some funding dried up, so did the access - ah well.

This shot also shows the end of the breakwall which I have to say in my area is one of my favourite walks from Newie baths and back.  Thanks for hosting Bob.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.