noisy

We were woken at 1.20am by a crash of thunder right over the house. What would seem more mundane in the daytime felt almost apocalyptic in the wee hours of the morning, but I willed myself back to sleep as the storm moved on.

Surprisingly the morning dawned quiet and bright and no damage to be seen in Gareth's wake. It's been blustery all day but nothing as bad as expected. I went for a walk and spent some time watching these noisy rooks at Stepford. 

A friend recently lent me the excellent book "Crow Country" by Mark Cocker, in which the author travels up to this part of the world in 2005 especially to investigate one of the largest rook roosts ever recorded. (this was after reading a paper written in 1971 which described a nightly roost of 10,000 birds in the village of Dunscore). It made me look at these birds in a new light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.