Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Wa:K Pow Wow Day 1

It was really windy all day but it warmed up nicely under the bright Arizona sun.  It was the first of two days of the 39th annual Wa:k Pow Wow.  The place was jammed.  We were able to get seats in the bleachers for the Basket Dance (top photos) but we got up during the break to get some water and a wonderful Indian Fry bread with beans, chili, red sauce, lettuce and cheese.  It sounds like a Mexican taco salad but this was a million times better.  The wind blew my fork so I ended up eating it before the advent of forks.  Sometimes messy tastes even better.  I never was able to get into a position for a really good shot of the dancers throughout the day.  But the Basket Dance was precious.  The tiny one, only two years old, stole the show.  She was either running from behind to catch up with the others or wandering out in front.  When they circled clockwise, she did the opposite.  And throughout the entire time she had a Binky (pacifier) in her mouth. 

I'm going back tomorrow to try and get a more varied set of shots.  I thought of the over 200 I took today that I would concentrate on the kids for my post.  There were tribes from as far away as Connecticut and from places like the Dakotas and Montana.  Lots of fun and oodles of friendly people.  The event is sponsored by Tohono O'odham Nation.  

Since this was a family-oriented day, I present to you a family-friendly pun:
Q: What did the toy store sign say?
A: Don’t feed the animals. They are already stuffed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.