Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Old fence, Church Lane

It's funny how the weather can change so quickly.  On leaving the house, I couldn't see a cloud in the sky.  As sunrise approached, large cloud formations moved overhead from the west and then they disappeared almost as quickly as they appeared.  While I took some sunrise images, I also took a walk up a gated road nearby,  In this area they aren't open to vehicles, unlike in some areas where the gates are used to keep in livestock.

I was taken by this scene, across a small brook.  I was tempted to cross the brook to get in a better position to take the photograph. When I attempted to cross, despite wearing wellingtons for the walk, the bottom of the brook was very silty and I had the distinct belief that had I tried I might have sunk without trace!  The whole area is low lying and criss crossed by brooks and pools and despite the fencing being there it has not been farmed in any manner for a few years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.