Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Can you see me?

Soon, the White-throated sparrows, with their sweet song, will be headed north to their summer breeding grounds.  For now, however, there are still quite a few around our property, mostly foraging in and under shrubbery.  I actually didn't even see this one initially as I was watching a pair of cardinals on the same tree.  A bit of motion caught my eye and I realized there were two of these sparrows sitting in the branches of the tree.  Snap, snap...blip done.

Phoebe is still in sick-bay in our bedroom.  She wanted to get on the bed in the wee hours of the morning and had to be lifted up (thanks, Hubs) where she curled up right next to Hubs and slept.  After we were up, she retreated to her hiding place under the wing-back chair, but not before I managed to get a pill down her throat and a bit of food into her.  Several hours later, she felt well enough to come out of her cave and even curled up in her little bed on the seat of the chair - it was good to see her out.  She walked a little so I could take a look at her gate - still off but it looks better than yesterday.  We will continue to keep her contained in the bedroom for a few more days at least.  She's 12 now so she may not spring back quite as fast as a younger cat - but hopefully she'll get back to normal soon.  Meanwhile, she isn't eating much and Charlie, in a show of solidarity, is also not eating.  Cats...gotta love 'em.

Gym today - 3 miles on the treadmill with the last mile being the longest.  Right hip has been bothering me so that's not helping.  

I've been giving a lot of thought to the recent horror in New Zealand.  I wonder if I was just blind for all the years when I thought we were making progress on racial, ethnic and religious inclusion.  In my country, it feels, in the past few years, as if the lid has been ripped off something dark and ugly. I find myself thinking a lot about what it means to be a person who is white and has led a life of privilege.  In many ways I think my "whiteness" has made me blind to the way things really are for many people of color.  I've never looked at my brown and black friends as anything other than people - I've never given a lot of thought to the notion that not everyone views them as equal.  But these days ... well, it is pretty hard to ignore the alarming rise of "white supremacist" groups.  And it's pretty hard to turn a blind eye to the cases of people being targeted because of their religious beliefs.  And I have to ask myself ... why?  Why are so many people threatened by those who look different, or who worship at a different alter?  It troubles me, it makes me worried for the future.  My heart goes out to the people of New Zealand, and to people in all corners of the world who are experiencing crimes of hate.  Maybe someday there will really be racial and religious equality...maybe...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.