Snow, Sleet and Rain

I awake very early - too early.  I was wide awake so I got up, but after about fifteen minutes I thought I would go back to bed and read my book for a while.  As TT was still fast asleep, I decided not to put the light on to read, so lay down again, and I must have promptly fallen fast asleep again, as I awoke over two hours later to TT telling me that rugby training was cancelled and it was snowing.  At that point I abandoned all thoughts of going for a run, and did read my book.  TT on the other hand, went out for a run!

I eventually got up and baked a lemon cake.  It was a new recipe which I had come across, and as always when you follow a new recipe, it always seems to take so much longer.  I had promised BB some pain au chocolate, but I couldn’t put them into the oven until my cake was cooked,, which took longer than the recipe said.  I then went back to reading my book.

We had decided to check out a café in town which has recently had a makeover, so we headed there for lunch.  While it has had a makeover, the food was still the same, though there were some more ‘exotic’ things on the menu, than there ever were before.  BB was happy, but declared that his pizza wasn’t big enough!

We then came home and it was raining, much heavier than earlier.  We were all a little damp by the time we got home.  Later, when the rain had gone off, I decided to brave a short walk to get my requisite number of steps.  BY the time I got outside again, the rain had started again and it was much wetter than earlier.  I was well and truly drookit by the time I got home.

We missed the first half of the rugby, as BB decided that was the time to practice his cello – and we didn’t want to discourage that.  We then tuned in the second half, how exciting – even for a  rugby novice like me.  They should have won!

Everything was drookit this afternoon.  The extra shows my snowy daffodils.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.