Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Ornaments

We enjoyed another cool(er) day today, something that is always welcome, knowing what is coming soon for months on end! I did the last thing towards renewing the Trade Licence, so I'm glad that it is all done for another year. The office I visited has spectacular views of the Business Bay area, but sadly, the recent rain has left the curtain wall really dirty and I couldn't get a decent shot of anything.

We met up with Karen and Alan in the evening. The dhow cruise which was cancelled on Friday due to rain, sailed today. It is often warm, so I had booked the top deck. Unfortunately, today it was really windy. We had a strong, cool breeze all evening which was nice in a way but not so great if you haven't got the right gear.

The dhow we have enjoyed so many happy cruises with friends over the years has had a big refurbishment, and there are several notable changes. The awning has gone (it would have really helped tonight), there is new entertainment in the form of a tannour dancer, and the service has taken a nosedive. The food, however, was just as good.

I miscalculated the timings for the return journey of the water taxi, so we had to get a taxi back to Al Seef where I'd left my car. Our speedy driver got us there in no time. And we had to say goodbye to Karen & Alan as they leave very soon. :(

My blip is a bit of detail taken by G.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.