Oak Trees and Spanish Moss.......

I had a lot of questions about Spanish moss on Oak trees when I posted some pictures before.  
       In todays picture you can easily see where the moss is on the Oaks.  The limbs that are open to get the sunshine have begun leafing out and you can see the new, rich green color.   You can also see where the Spanish Moss is located on the Oak limbs and twigs.  The sun can't get through to the leaf buds which is necessary to triggering the bud to grow and become a sugar factory.  Every single leaf is a sugar factory, and all are necessary to produce sugars through photosynthesis and sustain the health of the tree.
        In the extra, I put another shot of under the limbs of an oak tree where moss has blown in (by the wind)  You can see the old red leaves from last year, the petiole under the existing leaf is dead and not pushing last years used up leaf off.  In some places you can a single green leaf trying to reach for the light.  The petiole here is viable and doing what nature has designed plants to do.  The branch isn't dead yet, but a lot of the twigging is.  It is only a matter of time till the limb dies, rots, and drops to the ground.   These are very large trees, they will survive for a quite a while, but unless the moss is blown away in a hurricane or other fierce storm, they will eventually, die.
      I am having company arrive this afternoon from North Carolina for a week.  I may not get to respond to many of you as I will be "distracted", but I will do my best to sprinkle stars and hearts.   Thank you for your patience and indulgence with my merry  making!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.