Back to school

I went to Park Primary School in Oban this afternoon having been requested by the Primary 7 teacher to talk to 31 11-year-old children about gardening! The last time I did that was back in 1990 after having been to the Himalayas when I spoke to kids at Craignish Primary, played Nepalese music and showed pictures.

This class has been selected with 24 other schools in Scotland to build a pallet-sized garden to compete at the Gardening Scotland show at Ingliston at the end of May.

I expected to be talking about their garden, but all the questions were directed at me and my past career - "What's the tallest plant you've ever grown?", "What's your favourite garden that you've worked in?" or "What's the most poisonous plant you've ever grown?"

A few of the kids seemed quite excited by it all, but most were sitting there dutifully and asking the questions they'd written in their exercise books! 

Turns out that the teacher's Dad is the ferryman who takes Daughter One out to her work on the island of Staffa - small world, again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.