Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

River art

Fishing day! Only one rainbow trout caught but we shared it for part of our supper! Half a fresh caught fish is better than none!

While Jerry fished at the lake here at the park early morning, I walked the dog around the lake on the path. A nice cold morning but it warmed up fast. Jerry’s question to me when I got back to the camper “You walked around the whole lake?” Yes! Almost two miles before 9am!


We left the dog at the camper then headed to the rivers; the Chattooga first where Jerry caught the fish, then the Chauga.

We met a woman fishing by herself at the Chauga. Jerry continued to fish but I struck up a conversation. She is 80 years old!!! She told me about a waterfall further up the trail so I found Jerry to tell him where I was going. It was not too far but the trail was something that people had hacked, forged or just forced their way. I climbed tree roots, butt slid, climbed over trees and under trees. But it was worth it. The place is called the Chauga Narrows and I can see why! The river is mostly pools with some little rapids and eddies but before the falls the rocks start rising up out of the water. I am on the hill above the falls where the water is forcing its way out half the channel as a large rock is in the way. And it is also dropping down a long way. I could not take a photo that would even show the bottom ! Amazing sight.

But the collage I posted is the water along the way moving and flowing. The river has many faces! I love them all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.