Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Smell is wonderful

This is a wisteria flowering!   The vine is right next to my clothesline where it is growing on the old swingset frame.   I could smell the wonderful scent as I hung up some towels to dry in the warm sunshine.  It has just started blooming so I hope to be able to sit in the yard and smell that wonderful scent for a little longer!  

This is a long post so skip over if you don't want to read!  

We left the park this morning at 10am for the three hour ride home.  Last night the campers, both trailers and tent campers, arrived one right after another.   We had a couple next to us with two dogs in a pop-up camper and on the other side a family of three with a dog  who were TENT camping!   And it was cold last night in the mountains!    Gypsy was not happy with the other dogs around; she was not barking or anything like that but she could hear them moving around.  Several times she did a few yips and low growls to let us know they were out there.   So we probably did a good thing by camping in the middle of the week.  

In case you couldn't tell, I really love this area of the mountains of South Carolina. The two rivers are within fifteen minutes drive from the park with many hiking trails all around.  These rivers are really my happy place!  I probably could live in this area with no problem.  But visiting makes it all the more special.  

 There are several more waterfalls that I have not been to see in the area along with the trails.    Some I have been to see years ago that need to be revisited.  I am not sure Jerry will want to go hiking with me after the long walks this week.  He had  many aches and pains because he used leg muscles he has not used in this way. I told him the more he hikes hills the better that will be.  I just got the "LOOK"!     The only problem I had was tired feet even with all the scrambling I had to do on the trail at the Chauga.   Thankful for hot showers and good boots!   

One of my friends in the ladies hiking group has contacted me about hiking this area as she has never been on the river trails!   She saw my post on Facebook and wants to go!     So maybe next time will be a girl trip.  We can possibly rent a cabin at the park for two nights and share the cost!    We are supposed to talk about it this week!    She wants to do the butt sliding hike herself!!    I love my hiking buddies!   

I ended up with 400+ photos on my iphone and about 20 camera photos!  It was just too much to take the camera along the rivers and try to fish.  I did try to fish.     At least the phone photos are auto downloaded to my computer so I can get them off the phone without having to do it myself.    

 I made a couple of collages to put in the extras of some other views of the river and that big waterfall. I could use up all my extras with different scenes from the park and the areas around.   The first extra  is parts of the trail,  second is my favorite river  the Chattooga River, a protected wild and scenic river at the border of South Carolina and Georgia.  The third is the Chauga River with photos of how calm the river was at the beginning and then as it changed to swirls and rapids when the rocks started showing up. 

Tomorrow is clean up photos day!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.