Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Double Decker

I LOVE spring!!  Every day I see more birds returning and the grass is even starting to green up!  Today the pair of Cooper's Hawks that nest in a tree on the next block behind us visited our backyard for the first time this year.  I decided to take the short drive to see if the Great Blue Herons had returned to their nests and, as you can see, I wasn't disappointed.  My extra shows about half of the total number of nests in these trees.  I couldn't get a wide enough shot and still be able to see the birds.  Oh yes, I almost forgot that the Mama Osprey returned to the nest yesterday too.  The male hasn't arrived yet.  These are the Ospreys that I watch in person (about 2 miles from home) and on the nest cam.

I am grateful to my friend, Roger, for sharing his love of birds with me.  He has passed on now but I still feel him with me when I'm birdwatching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.