As it is

Life isn't always neat and tidy as I prefer it. If I photograph my home I always want it looking at it's best.

As part of my job I take our staff photos. I always give people a day or 2 notice because I know we all prefer to look at our best.

As a country we have an opportunity to face some uncomfortable truths. As I reflect on what that means for me as a white, middle class woman, I've realised I can explore some of that through photography.

The process of making room for unwanted change takes time. Owning uncomfortable truths may take longer. Both will be rich and ultimately liberating.

So I have a messy kitchen but a less weedy garden. Some plants are grateful for deep watering. Tomorrow the kitchen may be tidy again.

Today's gratitude: For finally figuring out how to use a garden hoe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.