INDOOR MARKET - DURHAM

8.45am pick up to go to Morrisons with my friend Jan.  Back home to sort the shopping out and have breakfast.  Then I was off out to catch the bus to Gateshead and then another bus to Durham.

I had wandered around Durham popping into the many charity shops.  Made my way up to the Cathedral.  Its wonderful inside.  Until a few weeks ago taking photos inside the Cathedral was banned but now you are allowed to take photos ( no flash ).  There were lots of photographers in evidence today.  The stained glass windows are particularly lovely.  I made a collage showing some of the windows, an altar, part of the lovely roof, the wonderfully ornate pulpit and the cloisters. My second collage shows the outside of the cathedral, Durham Castle and two views of the River Wear.  See my Extras.

I made a few purchases in the Cathedral shop and then walked back down the hill to Market Square. I popped into the market to buy some fresh dressed crab -- and I took my blip shot in there.  The Wide Wednesday challenge is something  colourful .  Even though the stained glass windows in the Cathedral are colourful they don't come out very bright in photos due to the poor lighting ( and a not very good camera ).  So I decided to blip a couple of the colourful market stalls.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Whilst yesterday was a pain free day I can't say the same for today.  It started up when I was in Durham so I just had to cope with it as best I could.  Walking around was a bit uncomfortable so I had regular rests wherever I could. it was a relief to get on the bus and relax during the one hour journey back to Gateshead and then the 30 min journey back to my village.

Steps today - 11,325

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.