Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Finchie

Oh, my!  Thank you so much for all of the nice comments, stars and faves on yesterday's Rufous hummingbird.  I loved the shot and am so pleased that you did, too.

It was really extra warm today: 88°/31° when I checked at 1:00.  I was out most of the day.  It started with getting my broken hearing aid fixed, met with a few friends, had physical therapy and picked up some food at Sprouts; enough for a couple of days for mom.

When I got home it was time to take care of the birds.  Before I put anything new up I sprayed everything down with the hose.  You can tell in the photo that things had already begun to dry.  When I sat down to rest, this guy seemed a little curious.  I usually have to sit motionless for quite a while before the finches or other birds come back.  (Hummingbirds couldn't care less if you are there.)

I have some good gardening news!.  In November I put in two starter plants.  One is called a fairy duster and the other is a firecracker.  They are native plants that will eventually attract hummingbirds.  Today I spotted my first tiny fairy duster flower.  They survived the winter.  Yippee!

In honor of my gardening prowess...
The best way to garden is to put on a straw hat and old clothes, have a hoe in one hand and a cold drink in the other - then tell someone else where to dig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.