Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A touch of red everywhere

Perhaps not this morning. Julie went to see The Swinging Sixties and I went to the National Gallery to see Sorolla - Spanish Master of Light.

All photographers should go to see this exhibition. His use of light is exquisite.  They gave me a complimentary ticket when I explained why I had not been able to go in yesterday. I was entranced by many of the paintings.

Food in the café was eye wateringly expensive!

Next door in the Portrait Gallery was Martin Parr's exhibition - Only Human. As many of you will know he always includes very bright reds in his images. Please see the extra where a woman persuaded her husband to pose for a photograph. Martin Parr is always looking for quirkiness in human behaviour so I thought I was entering into the spirit of things. My second extra is also from that exhibion. After yesterday's Brexit march, we should all be asking what it means to be English and Proud (never mind British or European......)

Julie met me at the gallery and we had lunch at a lovely looking but rather pretentious Italian restaurant. The service was poor so we won't go there again.

Finally, we made our way to Kings Cross.  When the train arrived from Edinburgh, Sunderland fans in huge numbers poured off, shouting loudly. They were very good humoured and I had a great time with the camera.

Home again, a bit late because the train was delayed while it was cleaned (!).

Back to our normal routines, although one or two have been improved in my absence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.