Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Volt Of Vultures

I checked into my casita at Madera Canyon later than I had hoped.  It was a Reno brother overlapping with the Buffalo brother thing.  I couldn't leave them both after not seeing them for a year. One whisked in while the other whisked out.

By the time I unloaded everything, I really wasn't up to walking over to the wildlife area to take pictures so I sat on my porch reading for a while. Lots of wild turkeys hang out with the birds and other critters but leave later in the day for their homes up in the woods.  They headed out right in front of me and headed towards the hill next to my car.  The next thing I heard was BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG.  The dang turkeys had surrounded my car and were pummeling it with their ugly beaks.  Jumping up, I chased and yelled at them.  Then I stood watch at the car as about a zillion turkeys meandered past me.

I know the woman who checked me in so she gave me a little hummingbird feeder to hang on my porch.  I've already had three different ones stop by: a black-chinned, an Anna's and a Broad-billed.  So that will be nice to have when my ankle hurts a little too much to lug my equipment over to the big site.

Finally to the blip.  Vultures.  Lots and lots of vultures. So many that I couldn't get them all into the wide angle. I put a closer shot in extras.  I took the pictures from the side of my casita close to sunset; hence the silhouettes.  I couldn't decide which to use as the blip.  Preferences?

That was on Tuesday, since I'm posting a day late due to sketchy internet.  This morning I got a bit of bad health news.  Monday I had a blood draw and this morning received a message from my nephrologist.  My GFR (%kidney function) has plummeted more than ten points to 25.  That's the worst since I was hospitalized for it last May.  I've been instructed to have another draw as soon as I get home.  I hope I can keep that out of my head from what is supposed to be a de-stress break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.