Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Peaceful Place

The thing I am enjoying the most about being in the forest is that I don't look at a clock.  I get up when I want, I eat when I'm hungry and I sleep when I'm tired.

Being here has reminded me that it's not necessary to always be taking pictures. It's more important to feel the sun and wind on my body. It's more important to listen to the sounds of the birds and rushing water and to appreciate the silence.  It's more important to see the clouds move gracefully through the sky, to observe the variety and subtle shades of colors around me, to watch hummingbirds flit.

Feeling, listening, observing.  That's what will stay with me. Those will be my memories.  There isn't a photograph in the world that can replicate them.

I could tell you all sorts of interesting things about the birds in the blip...but I won't.  Clockwise from top left: a Yellow-eyed junco, an Arizona woodpecker, a "gray-headed" dark-eyed junco and a male Broad-billed hummingbird.

Thanks for all of the hearts, stars, comments and catch-ups from so many of you.  I will do my best to catch up when I get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.