Wild Spring

I’ve blipped lots of Spring flowers from my garden but its happening in the wild as well of course.

Having worked on my ML presentations this morning, this afternoon I first practiced my rope work in a deep woodland hollow, on willing victim Anthony, and then took a brisk 50 minute walk with Peter. It was good to get out

The wood anemones are in full force with the bluebells just starting, but today I’m blipping Lesser celandine, Greater stitchwort and Red deadnettle.

There are all sorts of peculiar historical uses of wild flowers. Yesterday I read that Lesser celandine petals were used for teeth cleaning in Cumbria, that the juice was used to cure warts in Wales, and that in Scotland the roots were hung up in the milking barns to encourage milk production... because they ressemble udders! Really?!

Philosophy Friday
Don’t believe everything you hear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.