A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

City Park

Wow! - No not the City Park but The Hobbit which we have just been to see.

We went to see it in 3D at the IMAX cinema at the National Media Museum in the centre of Bradford. (This was the very first IMAX screen in the country) It was amazing, quite funny, scary and at times dizzying on the huge IMAX screen but wonderful. I will be back for the next episode! A few glimpses of the magnificent snow capped mountains of New Zealand too were an added bonus.

The National Media Museum is one of Bradford's great triumphs and it is right next to the Alhambra Theatre which I honestly believe is unparalleled even in London.

The best building in the city though is City Hall and here you can see it lit up (not sure about that) The clock tower is based on the one in Florence and the interior of the building is wonderful high Victorian.

Probably the newest thing in Bradford is this City Park. Like most people who read that they planned to create a lake in the city centre I thought the council had lost their marbles! But I eat my words - I think it is great and although many other local blippers have photographed it this is the first time I have walked around it and had the opportunity. Must come back here again too in the summer when everyone enjoys splashing though it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.