Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Almost time...

...for these little "snow birds" to head north to their breeding grounds.  The males have started singing their sweet trilling songs, and I'm seeing fewer of them at the feeders, so I know they are already on the move.  There are 5 or 6 distinct color variations of Dark-eyed Junco, and I think ours is the plainest by far.  However, when you look closely, you can see some lovely subtle colors in the slate-gray.  I personally think this one is enhanced by the bulging buds on the cherry tree branch, too!

Cardio for me at the gym today, then a trip to the hair salon to get a badly-needed trim.  Feeling ready for wildlife this Friday, and Florida next week.  

Saw a big bumble bee cruising around the daffodils this morning, but wasn't able to get out fast enough with my camera before he was gone.  However, I did manage to find the larval form of a firefly in the garden, which was pretty exciting! If you'd like the see the rather prehistoric looking creature, have a look HERE on Flickr.  Reminds me a bit of an armadillo.

And, now, back outside to see if I can find anything else of interest.  

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.