Cutbush Almshouses

What a difference a night made. Lovely sunny day today, albeit with a biting easterly wind. Up later than usual and went for a run which meant most of the morning had passed by.

Susan was up at her mum’s for another visitor, while I eventually was ready to begin the process of clearing the back room after all the decorations.

I put all the CDs in the garage instead of the hall, protecting them from dust with a mini greenhouse cover that we bought in town this afternoon.

I’ve had a sore jaw for a while so rang the dentist and was able to get a cancellation this afternoon which is why we were in town. It’s bad news - an abscess under two teeth. They’re going to have to come out. I was given some antibiotics to tackle the infection and made the appointment of doom, not until 16th May though. I hope it settles down else I’ll be back sooner than that.

On the way to the dentist we passed the Cutbush Almshouse, a feature of the town we’ve seen many times but never investigated. So we did, and it provided today’s blip. I’ve been unable to find out much about Mr Thomas Cutbush or the Alms Houses built as a result of his legacy. I have ascertained that his namesake, Thomas Cutbush was one of the main suspects in the Jack the Ripper murders.

No developments on yesterday’s incident in Mote Park. Nothing from the police, the Council or the local newspaper. My Facebook post has been shared over 110 times though so there might be some outcome from that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.